Book Review: The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka

The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Listened to Audiobook! It tells the story if picture bride Japanese women that came to California by ships, and were getting married with complete strangers upon arrival. They had different fates of course. The book is interesting because it’s told in a plural way, with the voice of many women, not in a singular way. Going through a lot of different escenarios, experiences, and a big range of emotions! It’s crazy to think that so many Japanese immigrants and their American descendants were put in the interment camps! It also talks a bit about the people that stayed in the neighborhoods and what they felt after their “disappearance”. These people suffer so much abuse, and they had to start their lives again. I can’t even imagine. One of my kid’s teachers in San Francisco was actually born in one of the camps in Colorado. He is a great educator. What a life story!



View all my reviews

Author: F is for Felicity!

Each day I thank my lucky stars! 🙏✨

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.