Perspective

Hum, what a great word!
Among some of its definitions we can find using the Oxford Dictionary, and good old Google, perspective is:

  1. The art of drawing solid objects on a plane surface so as to give the same impression of relative position, size, or distance, as the actual objects…
  2. a particular attitude toward or way of regarding something; a point of view. “most guidebook history is written from the editor’s perspective”

For this piece I am using the second definition, as today I had quite a good example of perspective, from peoples point of view depending on what place on earth they are!

I am currently in San Francisco. Our current temperature is 56 Farenheit, which is about 13 Celsius! Not too bad for early January, some would even say that is a great temperature to be in! A few weeks ago I returned from a trip to Bali, where the temperature was reaching 105 – 110 Farenheit sometimes, depending on the location and time of the day, the humidity was super high as well, and as much as I like warm weather, it was sometimes unbearable to be outside! 

Today, I saw there were some notification in slack from co-workers that live in the north of Sweden. They were sharing they were currently experiencing temperatures of -43 to -36 Celsius! I can’t even imagine what that is like! One of them sent a picture and you can see some little white ice balls on his facial hair near his nose! He was covered in a scarf and the scarf had more ice! It’s also crazy to see their weather app reports, seeing a -36 celsius but feels like -48 celsius! Looord! This would be my worst nightmare, honestly! I would think of all the ways to not be there, as I sometimes do here… but I see that maybe I exaggerate!

The 2 extremes make me feel like SF is indeed a good place to be at the moment, all because of perspective! 

Now if I want to feel FOMO, I can go watch the feed of people that are vacationing at some hot beach place, but honestly I think I am onto something good here, so it may be best to avoid the social platforms, so I don’t ruin this illuminating moment of reflection!

Image by pch.vector on Freepik

Author: F is for Felicity!

Each day I thank my lucky stars! 🙏✨

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.